090010c4-5823-4ddc-96ca-b57deb4edf29_hong_kong

Is Hong Kong a vegetarian-friendly city? Where can we find vegetarian meals which are value-for-money?

I am a vegetarian. I have been to Hong Kong for four times. I still feel that it is hard for me to enjoy good vegetarian meals in Hong Kong. By “good” I mean those which are value-for-money. I tried to find some cheap vegetarian meals. It is hard. I even tried to find instant noodles / cup noodles for vegetarians in convenient store like 7-11 or supermarket like Park-n-Shop. There is none. I have also tried some restaurants and they are expensive. To be fair, food in Hong Kong is generally expensive.

At last, I have come to a conclusion, that is if you want to enjoy vegetarian meals, go for vegetarian buffet. But a gentle reminder to you, normal the buffets in Hong Kong have time limit of about 75mins for each person. So keep an eye of the clock. Below I am going to introduce the four vegetarian buffets I have tried.

 

Ahimsa (無肉食)

Address: 8 Tak Hing St, Yau Ma Tei, Hong Kong

ahimsa

There are a few branches of Ahimsa buffet in Hong Kong. The one I went is in Yau Ma Tei. It is the cheapest among the four vegetarian buffets I have been to. The dishes they provide are mostly Chinese style. I am surprised with the varieties of dishes they offer. Whenever a dish is finished, they will refill very quickly. Sometimes, they will even replace with another variety.

 

Everyday (每日)

Address: Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hillwood Rd, 10-12號地舖 Diamond Court

everyday

This is a small restaurant. The dishes they offer is not much. However, they have both oriental and western cuisines. So it suits everybody. Among the four buffets, I have highest satisfaction from the dishes they provide. I also highly recommend they vegan ice-cream. Don’t miss it.

 

My Meat Run Buddy (走肉·朋友)

Address: 28-30 Pok Man St, Tai Kok Tsui, Hong Kong

MyMeatRunBuddy

If you are looking for local taste, you should not miss this buffet. Although their dishes may look normal, you will be surprised by some of them. Try their pizza and Sichuan bean curd (口水素雞). You will not regret. Also, try their douhua (豆花). It is silky.

 

VeggieOne (素一)

Address: 銅鑼灣謝斐道535號Tower 535地庫B04號舖, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong

VeggieOne

This restaurant which is located at underground is the largest among the four. It can accommodate for most customers at one time. I am surprised with the number of Japanese food they provide. There are sushi, Udong noodle, and tempura, just to name a few. I particularly like their fried mushrooms / tempura which I cannot get from the other three buffets.

Leave a comment