9780062449924_p0_v1_s550x406

Be a Satisficer, Not a Maximizer

The goal of maximizing is a source of great dissatisfaction, that it can make people miserable — especially in a world that insists on providing an overwhelming number of choices, both trivial and not so trivial.

Being a maximizer does play a causal role in people’s unhappiness, and learning how to satisfice is an important step not only in coping with a world of choice but in simply enjoying life.

Distinguishing Maximizers from Satisficers

Write a number from 1 (completely disagree) to 7 (completely agree) next to each question. Now add up these thirteen numbers. Your score can range from a low of 13 to a high of 91. If your total is 65 or higher, you are clearly on the maximizing end of the scale. If your score is 40 or lower, you are on the satisficing end of the scale.

Maximization Scale

  1. Whenever I’m faced with a choice, I try to imagine what all the other possibilities are, even ones that aren’t present at the moment.
  2. No matter how satisfied I am with my job, it’s only right for me to be on the lookout for better opportunities.
  3. When I am in the car listening to the radio, I often check other stations to see if something better is playing, even if I am relatively satisfied with what I’m listening to.
  4. When I watch TV, I channel surf, often scanning through the available options even while attempting to watch one program.
  5. I treat relationships like clothing: I expect to try a lot on before finding the perfect fit.
  6. I often find it difficult to shop for a gift for a friend.
  7. Renting videos is really difficult. I’m always struggling to pick the best one.
  8. When shopping, I have a hard time finding clothing that I really love.
  9. I’m a big fan of list that attempt to rank things (the best movies, the best singers, the best athletes, the best novels, etc).
  10. I find that writing is very difficult, even if it’s just writing a letter to a friend, because it’s so hard to word things just right. I often do several drafts of even simple things.
  11. No matter what I do, I have the highest standards for myself.
  12. I never settle for second best.
  13. I often fantasize about living in ways that are quite different from my actual life.

One thought on “The Paradox of Choice – Part 1

Leave a comment