flyer2

I participated in KSL charity run 5km. These are my observations.

I never participated in any road running since secondary school. Earlier this year, I started to exercise, hoping to reduce 20kg this year. So far, all exercises are carried out in gym room, main on treadmill. That is kind of boring. So my wife and I decided to participate in a road run. Since we are new in the game, we decided to go for the shorter 5km run.

Our result: 35mins

This is kind of strange. I could never run that fast on treadmill. My current treadmill setting is 7km/h for 20mins (including warm up and cool down time). At the end of every session, I always feel that I couldn’t go further with my current physical strength. The run result shows that I could run at 8.6km/h for 35mins? That couldn’t be right. The possible explanations are:

  1. My treadmill unit is not km but in miles? That means, all these while I have been running 7mph instead of 7km/h?
  2. The path is shorter than 5km. Maybe only 4.5km?
  3. Everything is correct, and I can run faster and longer on the road than on a treadmill.

Seems like explanation 2 is most likely to be true. The only way to figure out is to use an app to trace my next run…

Leave a comment